201MC – Student Mentoring: Tuesday 18th March – Studio Introduction

Today, I mentored the first years in their first session of three that I will be teaching. It was an introduction to the studio. I was really nervous about teaching this, ad I am not 100% confident in the studio myself. However, turns out, I know a lot more than I thought.

I was able to explain the following to the 18 students that I was teaching:

  • how to take light readings
  • how the lights work and the different settings
  • how to set the studio up
  • what all the different equipment does
  • health and safety
  • syncing lights to cameras
  • how to book the studio
  • about the battery powered kits

I had an hour and a half so we were quite pushed for time, however, I managed to inform the students of all the necessary things they need to know in the studio

 

SESSION 1 (2) SESSION 1

We split into two groups, Jon took half the group and I took the other. I allowed the students to have a go at using the light meter and creating basic set ups to see what images they could create. They were really enthusiastic about this! I then let the students put the equipment away so they can see how this is done.

Things that went well:

I was able to cover pretty much all the equipment in the studio. I had all the correct equipment booked from the Media Loan Store to cover and didn’t miss anything out. The students were really motivated into having a go at shooting using the equipment they had just been introduced to.

Things that didn’t go well:

The only thing I think that would have improved the session was increasing it to maybe 2.5 hours. We only had 90 minutes and I felt slightly rushed when going through the equipment. Saying this, I was still able to cover everything.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.48.32 Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.49.15 Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.50.02 Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.52.07 Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.55.07 Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 12.51.25

Leave a Reply

