Summer Work: Task 3

Task 3
Choose something from the past years project work (level 1 classes) that you
would like to rework. Often due to time restrictions and other commitments
projects have more potential than realised in the time frame of the brief and
given the opportunity could be reworked to make better work.
Spent time over the summer break, researching and improving one of your
projects. This is something we will pick up in tutorials next term.

As part of 151MC, Assignment 2, I created the following video.

After realising that I could do better, I chose that I would rework on this over summer. I am going to base it round my travels and be more thorough with the interviewing. I am going to base this around myself and have myself in the video talking as I feel this is the best way to get my point and opinions across the most strongly.

Things I could have improved on from my first video (151MC):

  • Be more specific with what is being discussed, for example, Introductions. Questions.
  • Less Shakey camera work?

In my tutorial, Caroline told me that I should have a clear introduction so that the audience know what is being discussed. I am also going to be very thorough throughout my video to include as much information as possible.

The question which I will ask myself will be the following, I believe these answers will cover a lot of information from my trip.

  • How did the idea of travelling come about?
  • How did you decide where to go?
  • How did you get around?
  • How much did it cost?
  • How confident were you?
  • Place you were most looking forward to visiting?
  • Favourite place you visited?
  • Favourite thing to see and do whilst away?
  • What would you have done differently?
  • Best thing about travelling?

The process:

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 14.51.19 Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 14.51.03

Final Video

Below is my final cut for my short video about my time travelling:

CRITICAL REFLECTION :

I feel this video works much better as I believe it is more thorough. It is more clear about what the video is trying to tell us. In my london video, it was just a continuous flow of talking and footage. In this video, I have breaks, questions which are answered, and I have gone into detail. I also feel the music works really well as it isn’t too distracting, it lasts through the whole video and it is quite fitting for the film in the sense it isn’t to over the top, but it isn’t too boring either.
I used the question method, and by having them as titles as a way of the audience knowing what I was getting at. This also helped me cover most things about my trip, e.g, pricing, locations, favourite things etc. I thought with having these titles, it might make the editing process quite complex, however, it actually really helped. Having the titles allowed me to work on separate bits at different times, this way I didn’t get too caught up and confused with all the different media in my timeline.
Another reason I think this video is better, is the fact that since my original video for 151MC, I have had the chance to practise and learn more with Adobe Premiere Pro. This included just the little things such as transitions and titles. Both of which I didn’t really use in my initial video. These little touches make the video that bit more professional looking.

why isit better

Leave a Reply

