Various art events I have visited over Summer

Museo da Prado, Madrid

  • JAPANESE PRINTS

I have chosen to write and review these as part of the 2013 Summer work. Here.

Vatican City, Rome

  • SISTINE CHAPEL , MICHELANGELO

In June, I visited the Vatican and here I saw many different pieces of work. Below is an image of the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel. We weren’t allowed to take photos in there so this is a photo I have found off the internet.

I was really fascinated by the works of Michelangelo. They have so much time and detail in them. I could have spent forever looking round the Sistine Chapel. It was great being able to see first hand what I had heard so much about in books etc. However, I wasn’t able to enjoy it fully due to the amount of people in The Sistine Chapel and the amount of pushing. You couldn’t take everything in.

  • STANZE di RAFFAELLO

In the Vatican, there  are four rooms known as the ‘Raphael Rooms’ which hold all his work. I spent a long time in this section of The Vatican admiring his work. It’s not normally something I would chose to look at but I really enjoyed these as each painting told a story and had so much going on.

The four rooms are:

Room of the Segnatura

Room of the Heliodorus

Room of the fire in Borgo

Room of Constantine

DSC_0879 DSC_0880 DSC_0881

Rooms of the Fire in Borgo

DSC_0871 DSC_0870 DSC_0869 DSC_0868 raphael DSC_0866

Rooms of the Segnatura

Museo Nazionale del Bargello, Florence

The Bargello is an old prison and is now a gallery in Florence. In here held many statues and sculptures which I was fascinated by. They were all so lifelike and so detailed.
I saw work by, Michelangelo, Donatello, Vincenzo Gemito and the Della Robbia family. However, we weren’t allowed to take photos in here. So I found some secondary source imagery to include.

The Bargello Courtyard

Uffizi Gallery, Florence

Another gallery I visited in Florence was the Uffizi Gallery. This was a very large gallery but I got to see the works I was most keen to see, these being those by,

  • MICHELANGELO

IMG_5501 IMG_5503 IMG_5504

  • RAFFAELLO SANZIO

I was unable to take any photos of Raphael’s work in the Uffizi gallery, but I was able to find what works the gallery held of his.

Of his works in the Uffizi Gallery are, Madonna of the Goldfinch, painted for the marriage of Lorenzo di Bartolomeo Nasi to Sandra di Matteo Canigiani in 1505; the work shows the early Florentine influence of Leonardo on Raphael in the composition’s geometric design. Also in the Uffizi from this period is a Self-Portrait, as well as an earlier portrait from 1503, Young Man with an Apple, of who is thought to be Francesco Maria della Rovere, the Duke of Urbino. Also in the Uffizi is his portrait of, Pope Leo X with Cardinals Giulio de’Medici and Luigi de’ Rossi, Portrait of Elisabetta Gonzaga, Portrait of Guidubaldo da Montefeltro as well as works attributed to Raphael and an assistant, Saint John the Baptist in the Desert and a portrait of Pope Julius II, a copy of the master’s original now housed in the National Gallery of London. – 

http://www.virtualuffizi.com/biography/Raffaello-Sanzio-called-Raphael.htm

Gallerie dell’Accademia, Florence

We didn’t want to be staying in Florence and leave before seeing the Statue of David, so a 2 and a half hour queue, I finally got to see the famous Michelangelo Statue of David.

It was much bigger than I thought and there were many people surrounded!

  • STATUE OF DAVID, MICHELANGELO

IMG_5518 IMG_5521

IMG_5519

Musee du Louvre, Paris

  • DEPARTMENT OF EGYPTIAN ANTIQUITIES 

Ever since being at school, I have always been fascinated by Ancient Egypt, so it was great seeing these antiquities first hand! It was a massive collection and took well over an hour to see everything in the exhibition.

DSC_0271 2 DSC_0303

  • THE MONA LISA, LEONARDO DA VINCI

I was so excited to see The Mona Lisa. Being one of the world’s most known paintings I couldn’t wait to see it! There were so many people surrounding it. I had heard so much about how it was smaller than expected when you go and see it. But, I personally thought the size was perfect. It wasn’t too big or too small! I hadn’t got my hopes up for a huge painting either so I wasn’t disappointed.

DSC_0087 3 DSC_0086 3

  • VENUS DE MILO, ALEXANDROS OF ANTIOCH

DSC_0265 DSC_0266 2

  • WINGED VICTORY OF SAMOTHRACE

Admittedly, I didn’t know much about this piece of work before visiting it but I thought it was amazing! The artist however is unknown. (Greek). It is known as “the greatest masterpiece of Hellenistic sculpture”. It was discovered in 1863 and was said to have been created roughly 200BC.

DSC_0322 DSC_0324 2 DSC_0326 2

Musee d’orsay

  • CLAUDE MONET

I have always took interest into Monet’s work as my Grandparent’s have his work hanging in their house and my Mum is also interested in his work! The pieces of work which caught my eye the most by Claude Monet were the following:

  • Bras de Seine pres de giverny (1897)

  • Le bassin aux Nymphaes Harmonie Verte (1899)

  • Le Bassin aux Nymphaes Harmonie Rose (1900)

  • Nympheas Bleus (1916 – 1919)

  • A collection of paintings of Cathedrals which Monet painted

  • PAUL CEZANNE

I had never seen any work by Cezanne before but I really took a liking to his paintings. Like Monet, he had a very unique style, yet very different to Monet’s. He also painted different scenes.

All of these were painted around the 1880’s

Les Jouers de Cartes

Nature Norte auz Oignons

La Table de Cuisine

The following painting is by Gustave Caillebotte and is titled ‘Raboteurs de Parquet’ and shows floor scrapers in Paris, 1875.

  • EDGAR DEGAS

Another artist which I took a liking to was Edgar Degas. The following were my favourites.

Repetition d’un Ballet sur la Scene (1874)

l’orchestre de l’opera 1870

  • LEONARDO DA VINCI

I was also able to see some famous works by Da Vinci in the same gallery!

IMG_5695

Leave a Reply

